St Ignatius CatholicPrimary School

Excellence Unity Service

Search Search
Translate Translate

RSE Curriculum

Relationships and Sex Education


“… children and young people should be helped to develop harmoniously their physical, moral and

intellectual qualities… they should receive a positive and prudent education in matters relating to sex, and young people have their right to be stimulated to make sound moral judgment based on well-informed conscience and to put them into practice with a sense of personal commitment …”

Gravissimum Educationis (para. 3)

Second Vatican Council


Parents may be aware that from 2020, the requirements around the teaching of RSE are changing.

At present, we deliver our RSE through the Catholic scheme A Journey in Love, Science, some RE and PSHE lessons. We are currently exploring new schemes and will re-write our policy in partnership with parents to be ready for the changes. More information will be shared with you over this year.


A Journey in Love



The RSE scheme ‘A Journey in Love’ is introduced to children in Reception where children learn about ‘God’s Love in Our Family’. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) plays a major role in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. Children are taught to manage their own personal needs, develop the social skills they need to build successful relationships, and to take into account and respect the ideas of others. PSED objectives are taught throughout the other areas of learning to encourage children’s own sense of self-worth and positive relationships with peers and adults.


In KS1, children are taught:

  • we are children of God
  • about main parts of the body
  • to recognize similarities and differences between themselves and others
  • to identify and share their feelings with each other
  • to recognize safe and unsafe situations
  • to identify someone to talk to that they can trust
  • Relationships within family, friendships and community
  • animals, including humans, move, feed, grow and reproduce


In Key Stage 2, children are taught:

  • life processes (including in upper KS2 physical changes that take place at puberty, why they
  • happen and how to manage them)
  • the main stages of the human life cycle
  • to express their opinions about relationships and bullying, learning to listen and to support
  • others
  • to respect other peoples’ views and beliefs and celebrate differences
  • to recognize their own self-worth and identify positive things about themselves